
 4126 Technology Way, Suite 300 ● Carson City, Nevada 89706 
775-684-4400 ● Fax 775-684-4455 ● dcfs.nv.gov 

Page 1 of 1 

 

Joe Lombardo 

Governor 

Richard Whitley, MS 

Director  

DEPARTMENT OF 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

 DIVISION OF CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Helping people. It’s who we are and what we do.  

 

Marla McDade 

Williams, MPA 
Administrator 

 

MTL # 1006 – 09272024 

TO:  Jill Marano, Director – Clark County Family Services 

  Betsey Crumrine, Social Services Manager V – DCFS – District Offices 

  Laurie Jackson, Social Services Manager V – DCFS -District Offices 

  Ryan Gustafson, Division Director – Washoe County Human Services Agency 

FROM:  Betsey Crumrine, Interim Deputy Administrator, Division of Child and Family Services 

POLICY DISTRIBUTION 

Enclosed find the following policy for distribution to all applicable staff within your organization:  

1006 Out of Home Placement Process 
 

This policy is/was effective:  09/27/2024 
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NOTE: 
▪ Please read the policy in its entirety and note any areas that are additionally required by your agency to be in compliance 

with the policy enclosed. 
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STATEMENT OF PURPOSE 

 
Policy Statement and Purpose: Out of home placements for custody and non-custody children must 
ensure that the safety, well-being, permanency, and best interests of the child are met. 

When a child is taken into protective custody or requires a placement change, the Child Welfare Agency 
will identify the best placement for the child that will meet their unique, individual needs and limit the amount 
of trauma experienced by the child due to their removal from their home or change in placement. 
 

AUTHORITY 
 

Federal: Titles IV-E and IV-B of the Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. §§ 620-632, 670-679 Adoption and Safe 
Families Act of 1997 (ASFA), P.L. 105-89; Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act 
of 2008, P.L. 110-351; Child and Family Services Improvement and Innovation Act of 2011, P.L. 112-34 
NRS: NRS 127.330; NRS 128.110; NRS 424.031; NRS 424.090; NRS 432B.360; NRS 432B.390; NRS 
432B.391; NRS 432B.3905; NRS 432B.457; NRS 432B.550; NRS 179A.060; NRS 432.535; NRS 388E.105 
NAC: NAC 432B.250 
Other: 

 
DEFINITIONS 

Caregiver: (as defined by the child welfare agency) The person or persons providing foster, adoptive or 
relative care for a child, or a person who provides care in a treatment home or residential treatment facility 
in which a child is placed. 

Custody: Being under the legal and physical care and protection of the State. 

Fictive Kin: A person not related within the 5th degree of consanguinity by birth, marriage or adoption; such 
as a family friend or neighbor who has a significant emotional and positive relationship with the child.    

National Crime Information Center (NCIC)C: An electronic clearinghouse of crime data that can be 
tapped into by virtually every criminal justice agency nationwide, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. It helps 
criminal justice professionals apprehend fugitives, locate missing persons, recover stolen property, and 
identify terrorists. It also assists law enforcement officers in performing their duties more safely and provides 
information necessary to protect the public.   

NCJIS: Nevada Criminal Justice Information System, name based criminal background check. 

Non-Custody: Voluntary placement by parent. 

Out of Home Care: Placement of a child outside of their home of origin for a period of 24 hours or longer. 

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0400.htm
https://www.congress.gov/105/plaws/publ89/PLAW-105publ89.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/105/plaws/publ89/PLAW-105publ89.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/bill/110th-congress/house-bill/6893
https://www.congress.gov/bill/110th-congress/house-bill/6893
file://///fs-cco/shared/FPO%20Master%20Files/Policies%20and%20Procedures/DCFS-FPO%20Policies%20and%20Procedures/1000%20Out-of-Home%20Placement/1006%20Out%20of%20Home%20Placement%20Process-DCFS%20Rural%20Region%20ONLY/Current%20Verison/1006-4112019/Child%20and%20Family%20Services%20Improvement%20and%20Innovation%20Act%20of%202011,%20P.L.%20112-34
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-127.html#NRS127Sec330
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRs/NRS-128.html#NRS128Sec010
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nRs/NRS-424.html#NRS424Sec031
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nRs/NRS-424.html#NRS424Sec090
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec360
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec390
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec391
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec391
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec3905
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec457
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec550
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-179A.html#NRS179ASec060
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-432.html#NRS432Sec535
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-388E.html#NRS388ESec105
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-432.html#NAC432Sec250
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Relative: A person related to the child through birth, marriage or adoption.  

State: An alternate word for the Division of Child and Family Services (DCFS) or Family Programs Office 
(FPO). 

STANDARDS/PROCEDURES 
 

When Children Enter State Custody: 

1. Thirty (30) Day Removal Letter (Attachment A): Within thirty (30) days of removal, Child Welfare 
Agencies are required to send notice to all known relatives of children removed from a parent’s care to 
inform them the child(ren) have been removed in the event that they or other relatives that they may 
know of, want to participate in the child’s care or placement. See attachment FPO 1006A. Letters should 
be mailed regular parcel post, and include a postage paid envelope for the return of the letter. Refer to 
DCFS Rural Region Diligent Search Procedure and Policy 1001 Diligent Search Process and Notice 
for additional requirements. 

2. Children Entering Out of Home Placement: When it is unsafe for a child to remain in their home of 
origin, the Child Welfare Agency will identify an out of home placement that best meets the child’s 
needs. There are many factors that must be taken into consideration when determining the best 
placement for a child. 

a. Screen for Each Child’s Individual Needs: 
i. When it is determined that a child must enter an out of home placement, the 

caseworker is required to ensure that the child is assessed for any physical, medical, 
trauma from maltreatment or removal, and/or medical health issues. A child must have 
an Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) exam. The 
EPSDT exam MUST by scheduled within seven (7) days and occur within the first thirty 
(30) days (refer to policy 0207 Health Services Policy for additional requirements). 

ii. If a child comes into the legal custody of the Child Welfare Agency and is currently 
prescribed psychotropic medications or is in need of psychiatric services, the Child 
Welfare Agency must nominate for court appointment a “person legally responsible for 
the psychiatric care of the child” (refer to policy 0209 Psychiatric Care & Treatment for 
additional requirements). 

b. Priority of Placement for Out of Home Care: 
i. In a hospital, if the child needs hospitalization. 
ii. With a person who is related within the fifth degree of consanguinity or fictive kin, who 

is suitable and able to provide proper care and guidance for the child, regardless of 
whether the relative/fictive kin reside within this State. 

1. When an out of state caregiver is identified, the caseworker must follow 
procedures required by the 0701 Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children (ICPC) Policy. 

iii. In a licensed foster home. 
iv. In any other licensed shelter that provides care to children. 

1. Every effort must be made NOT to place children under age six (6) in 
shelter/congregate care. The only exceptions are: 

a. Appropriate foster care is not available at the time of placement in the 
county in which the child resides. 

b. If the child requires medical services and such medical services could 
not be provided in any other placement; or 

c. If necessary to avoid separating siblings. 
2. If a child under age six (6) is placed in shelter/congregate care in 

circumstances other than those exceptions listed above, the Director of the 
Department of Health and Human Services MUST be notified of the placement 
through the DCFS Rural Region Manager. The caseworker is to ensure the 
child is moved to another placement as soon as possible. 

c. Placement Criteria: 
i. Least Restrictive Placement: Placement in a family home is the least restrictive and 

is the preferred placement unless a child’s individual needs require a higher level of 

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2F30_Day_Removal_Letter_Revised_6_11_15.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy%201001.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0207_Early_Preventative_Diagnostic_Screening_Referral.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0209_Psychiatric_Care_Treatment_MTL(1).pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy0701.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy0701.pdf
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care. The following are types of placement, listed from least restrictive to most 
restrictive: 

1. Relative/Fictive Kin; 
2. Licensed Non-Relative Family Foster Home; 
3. Family Foster Group Home; 
4. Specialized Foster Home; 
5. Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility; and 
6. Acute Psychiatric Hospital. 

ii. Placement of Siblings: Whenever possible siblings must be placed together, if that is 
not possible initially, every effort must be made to locate or recruit a placement that 
can accept the sibling group. Refer to policy 0213 Visitation for additional information. 

1. If siblings cannot be placed together, the caseworker must ensure frequent 
visitation and/or ongoing interactions (letters, phone calls, text or email 
messages, etc.). 

2. If the caseworker determines that the siblings cannot be placed together or 
have visitation, the reasons that the contact is contrary to the safety or well-
being of the siblings must be documented. 

3. The caseworker needs to periodically reassess sibling visitation and 
placement decisions in cases where siblings are separated or not visiting to 
determine if a change is warranted. 

iii. Proximity to Home and School: It is important to maintain the continuity of a child’s 
social relationships and school stability. A child should be placed within their same 
community whenever possible, so that the child maintains their positive connections 
within their community, i.e., friends, church/pastor, scout leader, sports activities, etc. 
In addition, this close proximity allows for ease of visitation between the child with 
parents and with family members, which may lessen the child’s trauma of being 
removed from their family and supports efforts toward reunification. Furthermore, 
federal law requires that a child remain enrolled in their school of origin at initial 
placement and for any subsequent placements to support the child’s educational 
stability, unless it is contrary to the child’s best interests (NRS 432.535 and NRS 
388E.105). Refer to policy 0213 Visitation for requirements regarding visitation with 
friends from school, community, tribe, and faith-based agencies. Examples of when a 
child’s placement in their own community or attending the current school are contrary 
to their best interest may include, but are not limited to: 

1. Child’s involvement with gang or drug activity; 
2. Believable threats of violence from or abduction by the biological parents; 

and/or 
3. Close proximity to a perpetrator of sexual abuse. 

d. Emergency Placement with a Relative/Fictive Kin: 
i. Identification of Relatives and Fictive Kin:  The caseworker will work with the child 

and their parents to identify relatives and fictive kin as potential caregivers for the child. 
Children are less traumatized when placed with someone that is familiar to them. 

ii. Emergency Placement During Normal Business Hours: Prior to placing a custody 
or non-custody child in an unlicensed, emergency placement with relative/fictive kin, 
the placing caseworker MUST complete the safety requirements of form DCFS 
Emergency Placement Checklist (Attachment B). The following requirements must be 
performed: 

1. Home Inspection: Inspection of the home to ensure the environment is safe 
for children. 

2. CANS Check: A Nevada Child Abuse and Neglect (CANS) check in both 
UNITY and the Legacy system. 

a. In addition, CANS check must be requested from any other states the 
relative/fictive kin has resided within the past five (5) years within five 
(5) business days of placement of the child. 

b. Placement resources with CANS substantiation require approval by 
the DCFS Administrator or the designee prior to placement. 

3. Criminal Background Records Check 

http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy_0213.pdf
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-432.html#NRS432Sec535
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-388E.html#NRS388ESec105
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-388E.html#NRS388ESec105
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy_0213.pdf
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006B_DCFSEmergencyPlacementChecklist.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006B_DCFSEmergencyPlacementChecklist.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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a. Nevada NCJIS Record Check – The Nevada Criminal Justice 
Information System (NCJIS) must be checked for all statewide 
criminal background history. 

b. FBI NCIC Purpose Code X Criminal Background Name-Based 
Check – When making an emergency placement of a child in legal 
custody of the Agency, a preliminary NCIC name-based criminal 
background check must be made immediately and fingerprints must 
be received by the Nevada Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) within fifteen 
(15) days. Placement caregivers must get their fingerprints rolled and 
returned to DCFS within three (3) days. 

4. Confirming Safe Environment (CSE) Present Danger Assessment (PDA) 
(attachment C) 

iii. Emergency Placement During Non-Business Hours: 
1. Home Inspection: Inspection of the home to ensure the environment is safe 

for children. 
2. CANS Check: A Nevada Child Abuse and Neglect (CANS) check in both 

UNITY and the Legacy system. 
a. In addition, CANS check must be requested from any other states the 

relative/fictive kin has resided within the past five (5) years within five 
(5) business days of placement of the child. 

b. Placement resources with CANS substantiation require approval by 
the DCFS Administrator or the designee prior to placement 

3. Criminal Background Checks: 
a. Local Criminal History: During non-business hours, a criminal 

background check is to be requested from local law enforcement 
agencies; and 

i. NCJIS – statewide criminal background check must be run 
the next business day. 

b. FBI NCIC Purpose Code X Criminal Background Name-Based 
Check – When making an emergency placement of a child in legal 
custody of the Agency during non-business hours, a preliminary NCIC 
name-based criminal background check must be made on the next 
business day; fingerprints must be submitted and received by the 
Nevada Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) within fifteen (15) days. 

4. Confirming Safe Environment (CSE) Present Danger Assessment (PDA) 
(attachment C) 

iv. Exception to NCIC Criminal Background Check during Emergency Placement 
with Relative or Fictive Kin: 

1. An exception to forgo the Purpose Code X may include when the relative or 
fictive kin can establish, they have resided within the State of Nevada for a 
minimum of six (6) consecutive years, they receive clearances through local 
law enforcement criminal background checks, and they will be immediately 
applying to become licensed as a foster parent. 

a. Completing the FBI Purpose Code X name-based check requires that 
the District Office’s NCIC/NCJIS terminal designee ensures 
corresponding fingerprints are also submitted and reach DPS within 
fifteen (15) days. Meeting this Purpose Code X requirement does NOT 
eliminate the need to submit additional fingerprints during the foster 
care licensing process, thus a relative or fictive kin incurs additional 
costs to have fingerprints submitted twice within just a few weeks’ 
time. 

 
Completion of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Purpose Code X Name-Based Check 
 
1. The caseworker (or their designee) submits the names of any person eighteen (18) years of age and 

over residing in the home to the District Office’s NCIC/NCJIS terminal designee by completing the 
Criminal History Request Form (Attachment D). 

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006C_CSEPresentDangerAssessment.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006C_CSEPresentDangerAssessment.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006D_CivilApplicantWaiverForm.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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2. The caseworker (or their designee) must ensure that every adult residing in the home completes 
fingerprinting through an approved fingerprinting entity (i.e. Sheriff’s Office, Police Division, DCFS, etc.) 
within three (3) days of the placement. If the finger print card is not submitted and received by DPS 
within the established timeframes, the children must be immediately removed from the 
relative/fictive kin. 

a. Caseworker (or their designee) will provide the individuals with a Fingerprint Background 
Waiver Application (Attachment D) to be signed prior to the applicant being fingerprinted and 
then returned to the caseworker (or their designee). The designee will retain the waiver for 
audit purposes and then submit the fingerprint card to DPS. 

b. Caseworker (or their designee) will provide individuals with the unsealed Chain of Custody 
Envelope (one (1) fingerprint card per envelope) and individuals should complete necessary 
information and sign the card. Individuals will have fingerprints completed and fingerprinting 
entity will seal the Chain of Custody envelope. 

c. Individuals will return Chain of Custody envelopes to caseworker (or their designee) for 
processing within three (3) days. 

d. DCFS MUST process and mail the fingerprints to DPS within two (2) business days of receipt. 
Fingerprints MUST be received by DPS within fifteen (15) days of the day the child was placed. 

 
Criminal History Dissemination 

1. All DCFS personnel are required to adhere to the NCJIS/NCIC Security Policies regarding access and 
dissemination of information which states disseminating Criminal History Record Information from any 
system on NCJIS to any unauthorized source is prohibited. Information can only be distributed to other 
authorized users. Information cannot be disseminated to the subject of the inquiry. 

2. If the subject of the inquiry has questions regarding their criminal history, they can be referred to the 
State of Nevada Department of Public Safety Records and Technology Division website located at 
http://www.nvrepository.state.nv.us/index.shtml where they can receive information on how to obtain 
information regarding their own criminal history. 

a. Failure to follow these procedures may result in sanctions imposed upon the Division 
and/or staff to include the elimination of the Division’s access to NCJIS/NCIC 
information and the possibility of employee disciplinary action up to and including 
termination as outlined per NAC 284.650 CAUSES FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION. 

b. Criminal history records MUST be maintained in the case file on ORANGE COLORED 
PAPER with an ORANGE FACE SHEET indicating that the attached is CONFIDENTIAL 
INFORMATION and CANNOT BE DISSEMINATED. The criminal history results MUST 
NOT be shared and MUST be removed from the case file during a case file review by any 
unauthorized personnel (i.e. CASA workers, foster parent, child attorney, etc. reviewing the 
case file). 

3. If information is disseminated to other authorized users, the Terminal Agency Coordinator (TAC) must 
record it in a secondary dissemination log. Within one (1) business day following dissemination, staff 
must submit the following information to the TAC: 

a. The date the information was provided; 
b. The name of the person who is the subject of the information; 
c. The agency or person the information was released to; 
d. A brief description of the information released; and 
e. Reason for the release of the information. 

 
Preliminary Results and Warrants 

1. If a “hit” or confirmation is received on preliminary results (without fingerprint confirmation) regarding 
arrest, convictions, or warrants, caseworker or designee must confirm the veracity of the information 
by contacting the arresting jurisdiction. Electronic warrants do not require confirmation. The warrant 
information cannot be shared with the individual. 

2. Pursuant to NCJIS/NCIC Security Policies, the caseworker or designee must contact law enforcement 
if any subjects have active warrants 

 

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006D_CivilApplicantWaiverForm.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
http://www.nvrepository.state.nv.us/index.shtml
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac-284.html#NAC284Sec650
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Criminal History Background Check Results for Unlicensed Relatives and Fictive Kin 

1. Unlicensed relatives/fictive kin of children in DCFS legal custody need to meet the same background 
check standards that other types of foster placements must meet. Checking for criminal background 
records helps to identify potential safety concerns with relative/fictive kin. The following are prohibited 
crimes identified in the Social Security Act. Sec. 471(20)(A) of Title IV-E. 

a. Before the foster or adoptive parent may be finally approved for placement of a child regardless 
of whether foster care maintenance payments or adoption assistance payments are to be made 
on behalf of the child under the State plan under this part including procedures requiring that: 

i. A felony conviction for child abuse or neglect, for spousal abuse; 
ii. A crime against children (including child pornography); or 
iii. A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault, or homicide, but not 

including other physical assault or battery; 
iv. A felony conviction for physical assault, battery, or a drug-related offense, if a State 

finds that a court of competent jurisdiction has determined that the felony was 
committed within the past five (5) years, such final approval shall not be granted. 

 
NRS 424.031 Licensing authority or designee to investigate background of applicant for license, 
licensee, prospective employee and certain adult residents of foster home; charge for investigation; 
periodic additional investigations. 

1. The licensing authority or person or entity designated by the licensing authority shall obtain from 
appropriate law enforcement agencies information on the background and personal history of each 
applicant for a license to conduct a foster home, person who is licensed to conduct a foster home, 
employee of that applicant or licensee, and resident of a foster home who is eighteen (18) years of age 
or older, other than a resident who remains under the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to NRS 432B.594, 
to determine whether the person investigated has been arrested for or convicted of: 

a. Murder, voluntary manslaughter or mayhem; 
b. Any other felony involving the use of a firearm or other deadly weapon; 
c. Assault with intent to kill or to commit sexual assault or mayhem; 
d. Sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, incest, lewdness, indecent exposure or any other 

sexually related crime; 
e. Abuse or neglect of a child or contributory delinquency; 
f. A violation of any federal or state law regarding the possession, distribution or use of any 

controlled substance or any dangerous drug as defined in NRS Chapter 454; 
g. Abuse, neglect, exploitation or isolation of older persons or vulnerable persons, including, 

without limitation, a violation of any provision of NRS 200.5091 to 200.50995, inclusive, or a 
law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct; or 

h. Any offense involving fraud, theft, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, fraudulent conversion or 
misappropriation of property within the immediately preceding seven (7) years. 

2. The licensing authority or its approved designee may charge each person investigated pursuant to this 
section for the reasonable cost of that investigation. 

3. Unless a preliminary Federal Bureau of Investigation Interstate Identification Index name-based check 
of the records of criminal history has been conducted pursuant to NRS 424.039, a person who is 
required to submit to an investigation pursuant to this section shall not have contact with a child in a 
foster home without supervision before the investigation of the background and personal history of the 
person has been conducted. 

4. The licensing authority or its designee shall conduct an investigation of each employee and resident 
pursuant to this section at least once every five (5) years after the initial investigation. 

5. A child can be placed with an unlicensed relative or fictive kin once they have completed and passed 
the required minimum background checks and basic home safety inspection as identified in this policy 
dependent upon time of placement (attachment B: DCFS Emergency Placement Safety Checklist List). 

a. Non-licensed relatives/fictive kin should be strongly encouraged to obtain foster home 
licensure. Licensure assists the relative/fictive kin in understanding how to better provide for 
the child’s safety and well-being. Upon placement with unlicensed relatives/fictive kin, workers 

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0471.htm
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nRs/NRS-424.html#NRS424Sec031
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-432b.html#NRS432BSec594
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-454.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-200.html#NRS200Sec5091
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-200.html#NRS200Sec50995
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nRs/NRS-424.html#NRS424Sec039
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1008BAnnualReviewOfServices.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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should inform them their information is being forwarded to licensing recruiters for information 
regarding becoming licensed. Send out of home checklist and relative/fictive kin contact 
information to licensing recruiter within five (5) days of placement. 

b. For children in DCFS legal/protective custody, relatives not related within the fifth 
degree of consanguinity MUST agree to complete the foster care licensing process 
within ninety (90) days of placement or the placement cannot be made. If a preliminary 
FBI Purpose Code X name-based check was completed at the time of the emergency 
placement the relative will again be required to have their fingerprints resubmitted through the 
foster care licensing process. 

c. IMPORTANT NOTE:  Relatives/fictive kin are not eligible for foster care reimbursement until 
and unless they obtain foster home licensure. Foster care reimbursement is not retroactive. 

Planned Foster Care Placement: 
1. Planning for the placement of a child into a foster home requires matching the child with the most 

appropriate foster home that can meet the individual needs of the child. Criteria that must be considered 
for matching and placement includes but is not limited to: 

a. Relative/fictive kin; 
b. Placement with siblings; 
c. Proximity to home and school of origin; 
d. Least restrictive placement; and  
e. Caregiver’s ability to meet child’s needs/ 

2. In the event a non-relative foster home is identified as the best match for a child, whenever possible 
pre-placement visits need to occur prior to placement of the child. Having the opportunity for these visits 
allows the child to become familiar with the foster family and the foster family to become familiar with 
the child. Pre-placement visits help to reduce the trauma experienced by a child when they are first 
placed into a new foster home. 

Information to be Provided to Caregiver: 
1. The relative/fictive kin or foster caregiver plays a significant role in the day to day life of the child. It is 

important that they receive all necessary information regarding the child and family from the Child 
Welfare Agency in order to provide the best possible care to the child. Much of this information needs 
to be obtained from the child’s parents at the time of placement. The following list is much of what is 
required to be provided to the caregiver, but it may not be all inclusive. 

a. Contact information for the child’s caseworker, the Child Welfare Agency’s contact information 
if the caseworker is not available and a number to call if there is an emergency during non-
business hours. 

b. Information provided by the parents, relatives or caregivers regarding the child’s medical, 
mental/behavioral health, dental and developmental history, to include a record of the child’s 
immunizations. 

c. At initial placement, all contact information for the child’s primary physician, dentist, and other 
health professionals along with any dates for scheduled appointments. 

d. For subsequent placements, a current UNITY Medical Passport print-out on the child; this print-
out provided the child’s health history and other pertinent health information to the caregiver. 

e. The child’s Medicaid card. 
f. Child’s allergies (food, medication, environment). 
g. Any prescriptions or over the counter medication the child may be taking. Prescriptions must 

be in the original labeled containers from the pharmacy. Prescriptions for psychotropic 
medications must also have a copy of the informed consent signed by the person legally 
responsible (PLR) for the psychiatric care of the child (refer to policy 0209 Psychiatric Care and 
Treatment for additional information). 

h. Any known behavioral issues or concerns of the child. 
i. Child’s current school, educational history and any identified educational needs such as the 

child being in Special Education, having an IEP or any other pertinent educational information. 
j. Any family history or information needed to assist the caregiver in providing for the ongoing 

safety and well-being of the child. 
k. Personal belongings of the child, especially such belongings that provide a sense of comfort to 

the child. This may include such things as a special blanket, toy, trinket, family picture, etc. 
l. Any sports, community or scholastic activities the child is active in currently. 

http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0209_Psychiatric_Care_Treatment_MTL(1).pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0209_Psychiatric_Care_Treatment_MTL(1).pdf
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m. At initial placement, provide emergency clothing allowance if the child does not have adequate 
clothing for a seven (7) day period, clothes for seasonal weather, etc. 

n. Parent and/or family visitation schedule and locations. 
o. Any written consents that the caregiver may need to provide care to the child on a day-to-day 

basis. 
p. Date and location of next court hearing. 

Documentation:  

Case File Documentation (paper) 

File Location Data Required 

• District Office • Emergency Placement Safety Checklist 

• Criminal History Background Checks 

UNITY Documentation (electronic) 

Applicable UNITY Screen Data Required 

• CFS074/CFS076 

• CFS706 

• CFS708 

• CFS702 

• CFS042 

• CFS085 

• CFS193 

• CFS104 

• Case Plan 

• Safety Plan Determination  

• Safety Plan Detail  

• Present Danger Plan  

• Safety Assessment 

• Case Notes:  To include notes on placement of 
child; observations in the placement home; 
expectations of the caregiver. 

• Service Authorization for paid placements, 

• Placement location if non-paid. 

 
JURISDICTIONAL ACTION 

Supervisory Responsibility: Supervisor and caseworker to discuss placement, background clearances, 
review the Emergency Placement Safety Checklist, consult on safety and well-being needs of the child. 

Supervisor to document contact with caseworker in case notes. 

POLICY CROSS REFERENCE 
 

Policies:  
0207 Health Services Policy 
0209 Psychiatric Care and Treatment 
0213 Visitation 
0515 CANS and NCID Requirements for Prospective Foster and Adoptive Parents 
0701 Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) Policy 
1001 Diligent Search Process and Notice 

History and Updates: This policy was effective as of 04/22/2013, reformatted 2/15/2019, and reviewed 
9/27/2024. 

ATTACHMENTS 

FPO 1006 Out of Home Placement Process Policy  
FPO 1006A – 30 Day Removal Letter  
FPO 1006B – DCFS Emergency Placement Checklist 
FPO 1006C – CSE Present Danger Assessment  
FPO 1006D – Civil Fingerprint Background Waiver Application  
FPO 1006E – Removal Checklist  
FPO 1006F – Removal Child Health History Form  

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fdcfs.nv.gov%2FuploadedFiles%2Fdcfsnvgov%2Fcontent%2FPolicies%2FCW%2FFPO_1006B_DCFSEmergencyPlacementChecklist.doc&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0207_Early_Preventative_Diagnostic_Screening_Referral.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0209_Psychiatric_Care_Treatment_MTL(1).pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy_0213.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/0515_CANSandNCIDRequirements(1).pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy0701.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/Policy%201001.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/1006_OutOfHomePlacementProcessPolicy.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/30_Day_Removal_Letter_Revised_6_11_15.doc
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/FPO_1006B_DCFSEmergencyPlacementChecklist.doc
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/FPO_1006C_CSEPresentDangerAssessment.doc
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/FPO_1006D_CivilApplicantWaiverForm.doc
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/FPO_1006E_RemovalChecklist.pdf
http://dcfs.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dcfsnvgov/content/Policies/CW/FPO_1006F_RemovalChildHealthHistoryForm.doc
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